1. Gold medals from IISc (1992), Jadavpur University (1988)
  2. INSA (Indian National Science Academy) Young Scientist Award, 2000
  3. INAE (Indian National Academy of Engineering) Young Engineer Award, 2001
  4. Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK, May-July, 2009 (first awardee from India).
  5. Honorary Chair Professor, School of Engineering, University of Aberdeen, UK (from October 2010 to September, 2015)
  6. Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering (elected in 2011)
  7. ICCES Distinguished Achievement Medal, conferred at Changwon, South Korea in June, 2014 (a special symposium entitled “Deterministic and Stochastic Schemes in Computational Mechanics” was held to mark the occasion)
  8. ICCES India Chair in Computer Modeling in Engineering and Sciences, awarded in 2015.
  9. Awarded the Centre of Excellence in Advanced Mechanics of Materials in 2018 – the first such Centre funded by the ISRO